Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

Leadership & Innovation Awards
Awards Application


The purpose of these project-based awards categories is to recognize and promote the outstanding efforts and innovations by local agencies across California. The following categories are available for award recognition:

  • Leadership in Climate Resilience and Adaptation
  • Equity and Engagement in Climate Resilience and Adaptation
  • Cross-Agency Collaboration in Climate Resilience and Adaptation
  • Innovation in Energy
  • Innovation in Clean Transportation

Multiple winners in each category may be awarded, with special recognition for runners-up. 

Any California city, county, special district, Beacon Champion that provides a program or service that has proven tangible and measurable results with a minimum of one year of actual implementation are eligible to apply. Applicants do not need to be participants in the Beacon Program or active Beacon Champions to apply, but will be encouraged to join the program following award submission. Entities that are eligible to serve as Beacon Champions such as nonprofits, community choice aggregation programs, foundations, councils of governments, transportation agencies, and others may apply for award consideration.

Eligible submissions will highlight actions your agency has undertaken that advance climate resilience and adaptation or inclusive clean energy and transportation solutions. Achievements in these categories is not required to receive the Beacon Vanguard Award.

Please complete all fields of the electronic application and upload up to 10 program photos and/or materials.

Only one application and narrative per category may be submitted by an agency. A program or activity may only be submitted for one category. An agency may submit more than one application.

Contact Information
Describe the steps taken by your agency to address the need or concern.
Describe the results of the program.

Log in