Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

Special Thanks and Acknowledgements


The Institute is grateful to The California Endowment for its support of the Healthy Neighborhoods Project.


Special thanks to the following individuals whose time and effort contributed to the original publication of Understanding the Basics of Land Use Planning: Guide to Healthy Neighborhoods:

  • Manal Aboelata, Program Director, Prevention Institute
  • Barbara Alberson, Chief, California Department of Public Health, State and Local Injury Control
  • Susan Atkins, Redevelopment Agency Director, City of Corcoran
  • Artashes “Art” Bashmakian, Planning Manager, City of Westminster
  • Nico Calaveta, Professor of City Planning, San Diego State University
  • Jeremy Cantor, Program Manager, Prevention Institute
  • David Chantarangsu, Assistant Director of Planning, City of Glendora
  • Allison Cook, Principal Planner, City of Agora Hills
  • Charlotte Dickson, Director of Local Policy, California Center for Public Health Advocacy
  • Teri Duarte, Air Quality, Community Design, & Public Health Specialist, Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District and Sacramento County Department of Health and Human Services
  • Jacquolyn Duerr, Acting Chief, California Department of Public Health, Safe and Active Communities Branch
  • Michael Fossati, Assistant Planner, City of Saratoga
  • Susan Hilinski, Senior Planner, Community Development Department, City of Soledad
  • Ralph Kachadourian, Senior Planner, Development Services Department, City of Sanger
  • Sandra Kiriu, Principal Planner, City of Galt
  • Jamie Lopes, Planner III, County of San Louis Obispo
  • Jeremy Madsen, Executive Director, Greenbelt Alliance
  • Amy Rakley, Planner, City of Fremont
  • Linda Rudolph, Deputy Director, Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, California Department of Public Health
  • Michael Stepner, Professor, New School of Architecture
  • Joan Twiss, Executive Director, Center for Civic Partnerships

Prepared by Steve Sanders and Lianne Dillon, Institute staff. All decisions regarding the final content of this guide were made by the Institute for Local Government.


© Institute for Local Government 2010. All rights reserved.

Log in