Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

South Bay Cities Council of Governments


The South Bay Cities Council of Governments (SBCCOG) is a joint powers authority of 16 cities and the County of Los Angeles that share the goal of maximizing the quality of life and productivity of our area.

SBCCOG members are Carson, El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Inglewood, Lawndale, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Torrance, and the Harbor City/San Pedro communities of the City of Los Angeles, along with the County of Los Angeles District 2 and 4.

SBCCOG members participating in the Beacon Award Program include:

Read about SBCCOG’s planned activities as a Beacon Award Program Champion.

Inglewood City Council Member Ralph Franklin with Program Manager Marilyn Lyon (left) and Deputy Executive Director Catherine Showalter, South Bay Cities COG, celebrate designation as a Beacon Award Program Champion

The South Bay Environmental Services Center (SBESC) is the South Bay’s clearinghouse for energy efficiency, water conservation and environmental information; workshops, materials and outreach. A program of the South Bay Cities Council of Governments, SBESC partners with Southern California Gas Company, Southern California Edison, West Basin Municipal Water District, City of Torrance, Sanitation Districts of Los Angeles County, Los Angeles Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro), and County of Los Angeles .

SBESC assists public agencies including cities, schools, and special districts, as well as businesses and residents of the South Bay to best utilize the many resources available to them through a variety of statewide and local energy efficiency and water conservation programs. SBESC has expanded its services to provide audits and implementation projects for its cities, school districts and other public agencies.

Log in