Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

California’s 18 Metropolitan Planning Organizations


Federal law requires that any urbanized area with population of at least 50,000 be guided and maintained by a regional entity known as a metropolitan planning organization (MPO).  SB 375 details specific roles for California MPOs, expanding their role in regional planning.  Eighteen MPOs are designated in California, accounting for approximately 98% of the state’s population.

These MPOs are:

  • Association of Monterey Bay Area Governments (AMBAG)
  • Butte County Association of Governments (BCAG)
  • Fresno Council of Governments (FresnoCOG)
  • Kern Council of Governments (KCOG)
  • Kings County Association of Governments (KCAG)
  • Madera County Transportation Commission (Madera CTC)
  • Merced County Association of Governments (MCAG)
  • Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)
  • Sacramento Area Council of Governments (SACOG)
  • San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG)
  • San Joaquin Council of Governments (SJCOG)
  • San Luis Obispo Council of Governments (SLOCOG)
  • Santa Barbara County Association of Governments (SBCAG)
  • Shasta County Regional Transportation Planning Agency (SCRTPA)
  • Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG)
  • Stanislaus Council of Governments (StanCOG)
  • Tahoe Metropolitan Planning Organization (TMPO)
  • Tulare County Association of Governments (TCAG)


Log in