Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

Beacon Vanguard & Spotlight Awards
Awards Application


The Beacon Program recognizes the measurable achievements of local agencies working to address climate change. These awards, called Spotlight Awards, are given in five distinct award categories. Within each award area, a participant can earn silver, gold or platinum – based on the level of achievement. Cities and counties can also earn a Lithium Level Spotlight Award in Greenhouse Gas Emissions Reductions for going above and beyond statewide targets. 

To win the highest honor, the Beacon Vanguard Award, participating agencies are required to demonstrate achievements in all five spotlight areas.

Complete this application to be considered for award consideration. Please ensure your application and supporting documentation are complete.

Contact Information
Please record activities in each of the Institute’s ten Sustainability Best Practice Areas
Energy Efficiency & Conservation
Water and Wastewater Systems
Waste Reduction and Recycling
Green Building Activity
Climate-Friendly Purchasing
Renewable Energy and Low-Carbon Fuels
Efficient Transportation
Land Use and Community Design
Open Space and Offsetting Carbon Emissions
Community and Individual Action

Log in