Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

Bay Area Governments’ Climate Action Leadership Recognized by New Institute Beacon Award Program


The Institute for Local Government invites all Bay Area cities and counties to submit applications to participate in its new sustainability and climate change recognition program, the Beacon Award: Local Leadership toward Solving Climate Change.

Local governments throughout the Bay Area are already participating as a way to highlight their leadership and accomplishments with their residents and share best practices with other communities. Debuted in August 2010 as the first of its kind in California, the Beacon Award recognizes and celebrates cities and counties that:

  • Reduce greenhouse gas emissions;
  • Save energy;
  • Adopt policies and programs to address climate change; and
  • Promote sustainability.

Bay Area participants working to achieving one of three award levels include to date: Cities of San Rafael, Livermore, San Ramon, Pleasanton, and Hayward. Local agencies can track the accomplishments, best practices and progress of these and other Beacon Award participants on the Institute’s website.

The City of San Rafael holds the distinction of being the first official city participant. During a special Beacon Award program meeting at the League’s 2010 Annual Conference, San Rafael council member Greg Brockbank said, “It is an extremely important program that I think everyone should take advantage of. I encourage every city in the state… to do this.” (View a video of Council Member Brockbank’s full statement)

Information about the Beacon Award program, including an online application and support materials, is available at: There is no deadline to apply; applications are accepted on an ongoing basis.

The Institute for Local Government is the non-profit research and education affiliate of the League of California Cities and the California State Association of Counties. Visit to learn more. The Beacon Award program is funded by California utility ratepayers and administered by Southern California Gas Company, San Diego Gas & Electric Company, Pacific Gas & Electric Company and Southern California Edison, under the auspices of the California Public Utilities Commission.

Log in