Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

March 2011 Program Update


Cities and counties throughout California are participating in the Institute for Local Government’s sustainability and climate change recognition program, the Beacon Award: Local Leadership toward Solving Climate Change.

Debuted in August 2010 as the first of its kind in California, the Beacon Award recognizes and celebrates cities and counties that:

  • Reduce greenhouse gas emissions;
  • Save energy;
  • Adopt policies and programs to address climate change; and
  • Promote sustainability.

Participants working to achieving one of three award levels include to date: 

  • Chula Vista
  • Citrus Heights
  • Hayward, Livermore
  • Palm Springs
  • Pleasanton
  • San Rafael
  • San Ramon
  • Santa Barbara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Simi Valley
  • Tulare
  • Ventura
  • Woodland
  • Town of Apple Valley
  • Yolo County

Log in