Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

2020 Beacon Award Ceremony


More than 160 cities have joined the Beacon Program, and pledged to set targets and create policies and programs that exemplify those principles. This year, we will be honoring 6 cities that have met the requirements to earn the prestigious Beacon Vanguard Award and the 30 cities that have earned Spotlight Awards at the Silver, Gold, and Platinum levels for taking significant steps to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, save energy, and implement best practices in sustainability.

You’re invited to help celebrate the achievements of these cities at this year’s Beacon Award Ceremony in a re-imagined virtual format. The ceremony will take place in conjunction with the League’s Annual Conference on Thursday, October 8, 2020 at 5:00 pm.


Keynote Address from Fran Pavley

Fran Pavley served 29 years in elected office. Born and raised in Los Angeles, Pavley was elected the first mayor of Agoura Hills in 1982, and served 14 years in the California Assembly and the State Senate. Former State Senator Pavley authored landmark climate policies (AB 1493, AB 32, SB 32, and others) that have created a market for innovation and investment in clean energy and vehicles, which have helped clean up our air, grow the economy, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. As chair of the Senate’s Natural Resources and Water Committee, she was able to pass the state’s first sustainable Groundwater Management Act, promote policies to protect our ocean and watersheds, and adopt measures to create more sustainable local water supplies. She is now working as the Environmental Policy Director for the USC Schwarzenegger Institute, and serves on several state and local boards and committees. Read more.

Register now!

This event is FREE but space is limited. RSVP required. Register today!

Please join us in congratulating the 2020 Beacon Awards winners:

Arcata * Artesia * Arvin * Bakersfield * Beverly Hills * Chula Vista * Coronado * Cupertino * Daly City  * East Palo Alto  * El Centro  * Goleta * Half Moon Bay * Indio * Mammoth Lakes  * Millbrae * Moorpark * Ojai * Pacific Grove  * Palmdale * Paramount  * Sacramento * Salinas * San Diego  * San Leandro * San Luis Obispo * San Mateo  * San Ramon * Seaside * Signal Hill  * Simi Valley * Thousand Oaks  * Truckee * Twentynine Palms * Ventura * Watsonville *


Log in