Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

Becoming a Beacon Award Program Champion


Who Can Be a Beacon Award Program Champion?

Examples of potential Beacon Award Champions include:

  • Councils of Governments
  • Port authorities
  • Special districts
  • Air districts
  • Foundations
  • Others on a case-by-case basis that meet the Beacon Award Champion criteria

What Type of Activities Make an Organization Eligible to be a Beacon Award Program Champion?

Being designated a Beacon Award Champion means that the organization or agency helps to promote and/or support the activities of cities and counties participating in the Beacon Award program or is actively working to encourage cities and counties to participate.  The Beacon Champion’s activities involve more than one activity (although individual activities are appreciated). The Beacon Award Champion demonstrates its sustained commitment by carrying out a range of activities over time to help promote and support Beacon Award program participants.  

  • Support existing and encouraging new Beacon Award program participants within their organization’s jurisdiction.
  • Promote and support collection and distribution of best practice activities among the Champion’s membership.
  • Collaborate with ILG to support Beacon participants.
  • Offer opportunities to recognize Beacon participants at Champion’s events, such as at board of director meetings, workshops and other events.
  • Provide periodic opportunities for ILG staff to present information about the Beacon Award program at the organization’s meetings (such as board of directors, meetings of agency technical staff, energy or climate task forces).
  • Help ILG staff connect with key city or county staff as follow-up to presentations to meetings or boards of directors.
  • Include information about the Beacon Award program on the organization’s website and in the organization’s newsletters.
  • Communicate directly with elected officials or key staff from member agencies to encourage them to participate in the Beacon Award program.
  • Provide forums at which ILG staff can help staff from cities/counties interested in participating in the Beacon Award program understand how to participate.
  • Provide opportunities for cities and counties participating in the Beacon Award program to highlight their activities in the ten best practice areas, including at meetings or the organization’s newsletter.
  • Provide opportunities to recognize and celebrate the interim accomplishments of participating cities and counties.
  • Highlight the Beacon Award program on the Champion’s website, including activities of participating cities/counties within the Champion’s service area.

Designation as a Beacon Award Program Champion

An organization or agency may be designated as a Beacon Award Champion if it:

  • Demonstrates longer time commitment and support of the Beacon Award program and participants by promising to undertake a minimum of four of the sample activities (or similar activities) described above.
  • Demonstrates a commitment to support program participants.
  • Requests designation or is invited to become a Beacon Award champion by the Institute for Local Government.

Recognition for Beacon Award Program Champions

Beacon Award Champions will receive recognition for the designation and activities through a variety of means.  This includes:

  • Use of Beacon Award Champion logo on their website.
  • Inclusion of their status on the Beacon Award program website pages, including on appropriate participant profile pages.
  • Optional press release about being designated as a Beacon Award Champion.
  • Recognition at appropriate meetings and publications related to the Beacon Award program.

Other Considerations

A Beacon Award Champion, especially a business or business association, may not use the Beacon Award Program Champion designation as a marketing tool or imply an endorsement or recommendation by the Institute for Local Government or the Statewide Energy Efficiency Collaborative.

Interested in Becoming a Beacon Award Program Champion?

To inquire about becoming a Beacon Award Program Champion, contact or (916) 658-8242.

Log in