Skip to main content Skip to site navigation


Overview Randi Kay Stephens Martin Gonzalez

CCS Partnership Leadership Council
City, County and School Leaders Building Relationships and Taking Action

In summer 2015, the CCS Partnership Leadership council met to discuss the progress and impact of the Local Control Funding Formula.

The CCS Partnership’s Leadership Council serves as an action-oriented and deliberative body advising and recommending to Institute staff on direction for projects and work under the auspices of CCS Partnership and Institute for Local Government. 

City, County and School Leaders makeup the collaborative leadership of the CCS Partnership.

The Leadership Council comprises association leaders representing the League of California Cities, the California State Association of Counties and the California School Boards Association. In their role with CCS Partnership’s Leadership Council the leaders make recommendations and take action on issues pertinent to the mission of CCS Partnership:

The Cities Counties Schools Partnership is dedicated to improving the conditions of children, families and communities at the local level by promoting and encouraging coordination, integration and increased efficiency of local services and joint facilities use among cities, counties and schools in all California communities.

The group meets multiple times during the year to learn and discuss topics of mutual interest.  Each association also shares updates about its policy-making, conference activities and items of mutual interest to all partners.

Leadership Council

  • Chairperson: Mike Kasperzak, Council Member, City of Mountain View
  • First Vice Chairperson: John Gioia, Supervisor, Contra Costa County
  • Second Vice Chairperson: Jesus Holguin, Board Member, Moreno Valley Unified School District
  • Stephany Aguilar, City of Scotts Valley
  • Pat Eklund, Council Member, City of Novato
  • Vernon Billy, Executive Director, California School Boards Association
  • Davis Campbell, Founding Member of the CCS Partnership
  • Matt Cate, Executive Director, California State Association of Counties
  • Alan Fernandes, Executive Vice President, CSAC Finance Corporation and Board Member, Davis Joint Unified School District
  • Susan Henry, Board Member, Huntington Beach Union High School District
  • Chris McKenzie, Executive Director, League of California Cities
  • L. Dennis Michael, Mayor, City of Rancho Cucamonga
  • Greg Pettis, Council Member, Cathedral City
  • Don Saylor, Supervisor, Yolo County
  • Chris Ungar, Board Member, San Luis Coastal Unified School District
  • Brad Wagenknecht, Supervisor, Napa County
  • Mike Walsh, Butte County Office of Education

CCS Partnership Association Liaisons

  • David DeLuz, California School Boards Association
  • Farrah McDaid-Ting, California State Association of Counties
  • Sara Rounds, League of California Cities

Log in